Role of Prayer

I am coming to believe that a deep and passionate prayer life is essential for any worship leader: presider, preacher, lector, assisting minister, acolyte, crucifer, everyone.

I find when my spiritual roots are well watered and fed, my effectiveness in worship leadership is enhanced.

It is tempting for me to believe this is true only for clergy, but I believe prayer would enhance the worship life of any congregation in many ways–not least of which being an encounter with God. Reading the lessons, for example, is more than reading. It is a spiritual exercise (or at least it should be). Reading the prayers is deeply spiritual and takes preparation ahead of time. Being an usher is spiritual. All these gifts contribute to the body of Christ on the sacred day of worship.

There are certainly other elements in worship preparation and practice, but it seems to start with prayer.

Imagine a congregation praying every week for what happens on Sunday morning? I think we would be amazed!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sabbath, worship

Leave a comment