Meaningful Service

Sunday afternoon I attended one of the most meaningful, deeply spiritual, and uplifting services of the summer.  It was the Memorial Service at Messiah Lutheran Church for Jeffrey Mark Graff who was brutally murdered last Tuesday.

Hilda and I came to the service early knowing there would be many people attending.  At one-half hour before the beginning of the service, the pianist was playing a meaningful medley of hymns that focused on Easter, Joy, Resurrection and Faith.

Jeffry loved music and it was reflected in the service.  The 36 voice choir sang a beautiful and vibrant anthem.  There was a flutist who played a couple of times accompanied by the pianist.  The hymns were not overdone–just two printed in the worship folder.

Pastor Scott Peterson’s message was one of the most meaningful I have ever encountered.  No flowery prose but faith-based fact: murder, sin, resurrection, redemption.  All put together beautifully and based on the Gospel of Mark’s rendition of the feeding of the multitudes.

Pastors often find funerals and memorial services to be times (unlike most weddings–and sometimes Sunday mornings) when people are most open to the Gospel of Jesus.

My spirit was lifted even though I barely knew Jeffrey Graff.

Something I took away from this service is that a Memorial service on the Day of Resurrection (Sunday) is a poignant and meaningful, as well as helpful day for such a service.  I want to encourage more Memorial services on Sundays.  It is hard on the preacher–most especially if he/she had to preach in the morning–and it is challenging for musicians, but what a gift to give in honor and memory of the deceased (to say nothing of the gift of the Gospel to the hurting world infected by the drought of human sin and in need of divinely refreshing waters of hope).

I want to put the world on notice, this is the kind of service I would want for myself.  (And I suspect you would too).

2 Comments

Filed under Memorial service/funeral, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Meaningful Service

  1. Mark Borseth

    I agree, it was a wonderful service. Pastor Scott is a preacher who always prepares well and makes it very clear that it is all about Jesus. The music was great as well. It is a gift to be associated with Messiah!
    I agree with your notice, Dennis. That is the kind of service I want!

  2. I was at the Saturday evening visitation awaiting to see Lois, when Pastor Scott paused the visitation line for a brief spontaneous service that was also very well done, and gave Lois several minutes to hear folks reflect on the love that Jeff had given to each of the people without ever intending to affect their lives. It was moving, and reminded me of some of my own stories of these two good people, one with God and one still here for us to love.

Leave a comment