Sunday, August 14 (Part Two)

I wanted to worship at Southside Baptist Church since they are our closest neighbors to St. Mark’s.  They have one 10 a.m. service and the place was filled with perhaps 500 people.  I was overdressed in my suit and did feel a little self-conscious.

As I pulled up I was impressed that “Guest Parking” was clearly delineated.  There were signs up pointing the way to the “Worship Center” and greeters outside and at the door.  Makes the visitor feel really welcomed.

All hymns and praise songs (both were sung) were on the overhead screens.  No need for hymnal.  Nice, attractive bulletin with the pastor’s message outlined.  The contemporary band did a great job of not overpowering the congregation so that people wanted to sing along and could actually hear themselves.

They had six baptisms today.  When two youth were baptized, the entire youth group of 50 to 60 all stood out of respect.  That was impressive.

The offering began the sermon (I’ve never seen that before).  The sermon was entitled, “Be Connected” and was all about getting connected in worship and in small groups and, oh, by the way–also getting connected to Christ.  There was a nice invitation to connection to Christ at the end of the service that was well done.

The sermon was 52 minutes long!  (Do Baptists have a 52 minute sermon they shoot for–I sat through a 52 minute sermon at the Baptist Church I attended last Sunday as well).

I am amazed at how Baptist or Baptist-like so many churches in the Huntsville area are.  I guess the distinctively difference of Lutheranism is one real motivator for me when I return to St. Mark’s.  (Speaking of which, I so miss St. Mark’s that I stopped by in the middle of the last service just to look in.  I am anxious to get back to my beloved congregation!)

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Sunday, August 14 (Part Two)

  1. ellen brusick

    Pastor, I just wanted to tell you that I’m enjoying and learning a lot from your visits and blog. Having visited some of the churches in H’ville, I find your responses to the various experiences “spot-on”, searching for the Gospel and good taste! (I think what makes the difference is that worship services should be designed for the uplifting of worshippers – a place to have faith strengthened, forgiveness given, and a chance to praise the Lord with the style of music that appeals to the believer.) What a great series of articles. Do hurry back to St. Marks where we have it all – except, we need our Big Daddy pastor back!! (and his wife!)

  2. Thanks for your kind word. Looking forward to returning to St. Mark’s. (Last Sunday, in fact, since I was across the street at Southside, I stopped by an just looked in). Looking forward to getting back to my favorite place!

  3. Becky Hamilton

    Both the church I grew up in and my grandfather’s church always collected the offering before the sermon! It wasn’t until I was an adult did I realize that other churches did it differently. And no, not all Baptist churches have 52 minute sermons.

Leave a comment